Way of the Cross Chaplet Instructions

This chaplet consists of 15 groups of 3 beads each, between which are medals representing the stations of the cross. An additional 6 beads are added as well as a crucifix.

This chaplet of the Way of the Cross was granted to Vincentian Order by Popes Pius IX and X. Later it was withdrawn by the Holy Office (1912), since the indulgences can be gained by using the crucifix alone.

It is somewhat of a misnomer to call this a rosary. To the sick and to others who cannot go to a church to make the Way of the Cross the Holy See has given the privilege of gaining the indulgences attached to the Way of the Cross by holding in their hand a specially indulgenced crucifix and saying the prescribed prayers, the Our Father, Hail Mary, and Glory be 20 times.

A Suggested Way of Saying the Way of the Cross Rosary

On the Crucifix say the Apostle's Creed.

On each of the following six beads:

1. An Act of Contrition.

2. Prayer to Jesus Christ Crucified:
Behold, O kind and most sweet Jesus, I cast myself on my knees in Your sight and with the most fervent desire of my soul I pray and beg You to impress upon my heart lively sentiments of faith, hope and charity, with true repentance for my sins, and a firm desire of amendment, while with deep affection and grief of soul I ponder within myself and mentally contemplate Your five most precious wounds: having before my eyes that which David spoke in prophecy: "They have pierced My hands and My feet; they have numbered all My bones."

3. Eternal rest grant unto them, O Lord, and let perpetual light shine upon them; and may all the souls of the faithful departed through the mercy of God rest in peace. Amen

4. Our Father

5. Hail Mary

6. Glory be

For the intentions of the Holy Father: at each medal/station say:

We adore You, O Christ, and we bless You, because by Your Holy Cross You have redeemed the world.

Followed by: Our Father, Hail Mary, Glory be.

The Stations are as follows:

First Station: Jesus is condemned to death
Second Station: Jesus carries His cross
Third Station: Jesus falls the first time
Fourth Station: Jesus meets his mother
Fifth Station: Simon of Cyrene helps Jesus to carry his cross
Sixth Station: Veronica wipes the face of Jesus
Seventh Station: Jesus falls the second time
Eighth Station: Jesus meets the women of Jerusalem
Ninth Station: Jesus falls a third time
Tenth Station: Jesus clothes are taken away
Eleventh Station: Jesus is nailed to the cross
Twelfth Station: Jesus dies on the cross
Thirteenth Station: The body of Jesus is taken down from the cross
Fourteenth Station: Jesus is laid in the tomb